Turkey Tacos

turkey tacos

Healthy Turkey Tacos!

At the beginning of last semester, I was on a huge cooking kick and had every intention of keeping up with this blog. I aced grad-school, failed blogging. A new semester (and my final semester-HOORAY!!!!) has just begun. Therefore, I am going to make every effort to actually maintain this blog.

I’m kicking off the semester with some of my ground turkey favorites. The first being turkey tacos. So simple to make, super fast, easy to reheat, and great to bring to work. Added bonus, it’s healthy!!! Why is it healthy? Because I don’t use red meat or the pre-packaged taco seasoning (aka low sodium). I like to add cheddar cheese and sour cream, but those can easily be eliminated to make this dish completely healthy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/4 of an onion, chopped
  • shredded lettuce
  • diced tomatoes
  • Ortega taco sauce (hot of  course)-only 10 calories per serving.
  • cheddar cheesearizona
  • sour cream
  • tortilla shells
  • spices (I use Arizona Dreaming from Penzey’s Spices)
    •  I use this spice, because there is NO sodium added.
    •  The ingredients include ground ancho chili pepper, paprika, chipotle pepper, red pepper, jalapeno, cocoa, and natural smoke flavoring.

 

Directions:

  1. In a skillet, add olive oil, about two turns around the pan.
  2. On medium heat, add the ground turkey. Begin to break apart the turkey with a spatula. Once you have broken apart the turkey, add your spices. I was very liberal adding mine. I probably added at least 2 tbsp worth. You will have to continue break apart the turkey through the cooking process.
  3. Once the turkey is about half way cooked, add the chopped onions. I do this because I don’t like my onions to be too soft or completely raw.taco
  4. When the meat is fully cooked (no longer pink), taste and add spices accordingly.
  5. I prefer my tortillas warmed so I will put them in the microwave for about 10-15 seconds depending on the microwave and size of the tortilla.
  6. Add the turkey mixture and whatever ingredients you like and enjoy!
One response to “Turkey Tacos

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Peppers | Never Trust the Skinny Cook

Leave a Reply

