Apple Cider Cupcakes/Salted Caramel Buttercream

This is going to be another one of those fall favorites that I will incorporate annually. Yum!

Here’s the thing about these cupcakes…They’re awesome. However, I had some seriouussss issues with the frosting. I mean serious. I had to go to the store and make a whole new batch…my way. It was chunky and the butter was turning into a melted mess. I should have taken a photo, it was just yuck. It may be the case that I don’t know how to melt caramels or that I used an extra stick of butter instead of shortening, but either way, the frosting turned out horrendous. The frosting on here is therefore the modified version that I came up with. You can find the link to the original recipe below.

Ingredients:

Cupcakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 2/3 c. AP flour
  • 1 c. apple cider
  • 2/3 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. butter, softened (I use unsalted)
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon-(a heaping tsp., I like spice)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Frosting

  • 2 sticks (1 c.) unsalted butter
  • 4 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 (approximately) of a 14 oz. jar of caramel topping. Honestly, I would add this to taste.

Directions

Cupcakes

  1. Make sure all refrigerated items are at room temperature. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake for approximately 18 minutes, or until a tooth pick can be removed cleanly from the center.
  2. Combine sugar and butter in a bowl and mix for 5 minutes until well combined and fluffy
  3. Combine rest of the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, cinnamon, & salt) in one bowl and the wet ingredients (apple cider & vanilla) in another. Do not add eggs until end.
  4. Add 1/3 of the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar, mix well. Add 1/3 of the wet ingredients, mix well. Repeat steps until all ingredients are added.
  5. Add eggs, one egg and a time.
  6. Fill liners 2/3 full and bake.

Frosting

  • Add butter and sugar to a bowl and mix until well combined and fluffy.
  • Add salt. I try to cook with salt very little, so I’m extremely sensitive to the salt taste. If you like salt, use 1 tsp. However, I will probably half that the next time I make this frosting.
  • Add the caramel. I was unsure of the amount, so I kept gradually adding caramel until I liked the flavor.

Decorating: I was short on time, but quickly made stems and leaves for my cupcakes out of melted chocolate. I used the same procedure for the stem and leaf as I did for my butterfly cupcakes.

Original Recipe from Something Swanky

Leave a Reply

