Mushroom, Onion, and Spinach Pasta

This recipe has lots of healthy ingredients….But, they’re masked by not so healthy ingredients. It’s delicious and simple though! Most time consuming part is the prep work.

Ingredients

Pasta

  • Cook however much pasta you like. I personally cook two servings so I have leftovers!
  • Packaged and precut baby bella mushrooms
  • Fresh Spinach
  • Half an onion
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • two garlic cloves, minced
  • 1-2 tbsp butter
  • Marsala wine

Asparagus

  • Packaged and precut asparagus
  • Salt and pepper-to taste
  • EVOO
  • Parmesan cheese

Bread

  • I cheated and bought frozen premade garlic/5 cheese bread (a.k.a texas toast).

Directions

Pasta

  1. Cook pasta according to cooking directions on box. I used angel hair pasta for this dish.
  2. In a sauté pan, coat pan with EVOO and add mushrooms, sliced onions, garlic, and spinach.
  3. Once the mushrooms have darkened and the onions have softened, add the Marsala wine. I don’t have a specific amount I use. Typically I add enough to be a nice base for a sauce. I won’t add too much where the marsala covers the ingredients in the pan.
  4. I turn the heat just above medium and let the wine begin to boil and add 1-2 tbsp of butter. This thickens the wine.
  5. When pasta is done, pour pasta into sauté pan, add parmesan cheese, and mix.

Asparagus

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Place asparagus in a baking dish. Coat with EVOO and any desired spices.
  3. Roast for approximately 10 minutes.

Suggestions: I usually use a garlic herb finishing butter on the asparagus and mix the asparagus with sauteed mushrooms and onions. Since the pasta already had mushrooms and onions in it, I didn’t include them in the asparagus. You can also add lemon to the asparagus.

…and the worst part about cooking goes to CLEAN UP.

Yuck.

Not looking forward to the loads of pots and pans!

Leave a comment