“Wedding Cake” Cupcakes

Wedding Cake Cupcakes

I have a million cupcake recipes that I want to try, so I will be gradually finding excuses to make these delectable sweets! What’s my excuse for today? A neurobiology lab presentation! It was a stretch to make it work and totally geeky, but I did it 🙂 I’ll spare you and not explain the theory behind my cupcakes and neurobiology and instead I’ll just give you the recipe!

Cake:

Ingredients

  • 1 (18.25 ounce) box white cake mix
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated white sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 2 Tablespoons vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 4 large egg whites

I ended up using a box of french vanilla cake, because the store did not have any white cake mixes that were 18.25 oz.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Place cupcake liners in cupcake pans (you’ll need approx. 36).
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together cake mix, flour, sugar and salt. Add remaining ingredients and beat with hand mixer for 2 minutes, or until well blended.
  3. Use any scoop to fill prepared cupcake tins- fill about 3/4 full. Bake about 18 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Frosting:

Ingredients

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 to 2 Tablespoons whipping cream

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, with a hand or stand mixer, cream together sugar and butter on low speed. Mix until well blended. Increase speed to medium and beat for another 3 minutes.
  2. Add vanilla and cream and continue to beat on medium speed for 1 minute more, adding more cream if needed for desired spreading/piping consistency.
  3. Scoop into a piping bag and pipe decoratively onto cupcakes, or spread onto cupcakes as desired.
4 responses to ““Wedding Cake” Cupcakes

    • Thanks! I’ll take a look at it 🙂 My pictures have definitely progressed as I’ve continued this blog. However, I do just use my iPhone for pictures.

      • I have noticed your improvements. I left the comment where not too obvious at this time, you can read and them delete if you like. I use an instant camera too. What I have learned is not to use flashlight and only use natural light, preferably in the afternoon. Enhance (auto correct) the photos, if necessary, on your computer. As you can see, I do not use any prop but try to make the food show its details. Good Luck! 😀

      • I’ll keep your posts! Any suggestions are appreciated. Thank you for the advice! I read the link you left me, definitely some great advice in there. I have noticed natural light is better. Luckily, I’m finally in a kitchen where I have lots of windows. That will help. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

