Kait’s Turkey Meatballs

Kait’s Spicy Turkey Meatballs!

Since I don’t eat red meat and I need my protein from somewhere, I make these meatballs to add to my homemade sauce! They’re so good and addicting to eat. I’ll actually freeze some meatballs separately and eat them plain.

Ingredients

  • 1 package of hot turkey, chicken, or poultry sausage. (Typically I use 6 sausages).
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/4 of a large onion, minced not chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh basil
  • 1 tsp perfect pinch seasoning (garlic and bell peppers)
  • 1 tsp italian seasoning
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/3 cup italian bread crumbs

Directions

  1. Add ground turkey and sausage to a medium/large mixing bowl. Be sure to take the casing off of each sausage. I like to mix plain ground turkey with the sausage, because the sausage has a lot of flavor already.
  2. Add onion, garlic, basil and spices.
  3. Add the parmesan cheese and breadcrumbs.
  4. Once all of the dry ingredients are added, add the egg and olive oil. Both of these ingredients are important. The egg helps hold everything together and the olive oil helps moisten the turkey since it’s typically on the dryer side.
  5. This is the messy part. The next step is to stick your hands in the mixture and mix it all together!
  6. Roll the mixture into balls and place onto a baking sheet that has been pre-oiled (I use the EVOO pam). Size of balls are your preference. I typically like mine bite sized.
  7. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  8. Bake meatballs for 10 minutes and then flip. I like to flip so that I get the meatballs evenly cooked.
  9. Cook for another 5-8 minutes. Based on thermometer. I will cook them till they get to about 158 degrees F and then cook them the rest of the way in my sauce. If you are not adding them to sauce, make sure you cook the meatballs to 165 degrees. However, adding them to sauce gives them a lot more flavor and moisture!
Leave a Reply

