Kait’s Sauce Recipe

Nothing like homemade sauce!

Ok ok, it’s mostly homemade. I don’t grow my own tomatoes (but I wish I did). I really, really, realllyyy dislike store bought/jarred sauce, so I’ve created my own sauce recipe, specified completely to my liking! I typically cook this recipe by just throwing in the ingredients, but I tried to put it into measurements for a specific recipe that’s easier to follow. Enjoy 🙂

Ingredients

  • 3/4 large onion
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp chopped basil (fresh!!!)
  • 1 tbsp italian seasoning
  • 1 1/2 tsp of sugar
  • 2 tsp of perfect pinch seasoning (contains garlic and bell peppers)
  • spicy garlic grinder (I use a liberal amount, maybe around 10-15 twists). This spice is great, because it contains garlic, red pepper flakes, and salt. If you don’t have a grinder with these seasonings, just add the ingredients separately.
  • 2 28oz cans of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 28oz can of tomato puree
  • 2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes

Directions

  1. There’s a lot of garlic in this recipe, because I just love it. Omit a couple of cloves to reduce the amount of garlic.
  2. Start off by chopping your onion and basil, and mince your garlic.
  3. In a large pan, oil the bottom with extra virgin olive oil (about two spins around the pan).
  4. On medium heat, sauté your onions for about 3-4 minutes. Add your garlic and sauté for about 2 minutes.
  5. Add the basil and spices.
  6. Pour in all of the cans of sauce. Keep the juices from the diced tomatoes. I typically use the puree, because I like a thicker sauce. You can use any sauce based on your preference.
  7. Turn heat to high so that the sauce boils. Once the sauce is boiling, reduce heat and cover.
  8. Cook for as long as you would like. I typically will have my sauce on low heat all day.

One response to “Kait’s Sauce Recipe

  1. Pingback: Kait’s Turkey Meatballs | Never Trust the Skinny Cook

Leave a Reply

