Butterfly Cupcakes

For those of you who know me, you know I absolutely love butterflies. Once springtime hit and I had a reason to bake multiple cupcakes (I hate when I’m stuck eating a whole batch myself!) I couldn’t resist making these. If you’re on a time crunch (which I was), I made the butterfly wings in advance and made the cupcakes the next day.

For the cupcakes, you can use any basic cupcake recipe as a time saver. However, I used the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake recipe again, because I love it that much. I have a basic description here for how to make the butterflies, but you can check out Annie’s Eats for a more detailed (with pictures) description!

Ever heard of white chocolate candy melts?! That’s all these butterflies are. You can purchase several colors, I personally went with green, pink, and blue for the spring.

First you draw out a pair of wings on a sheet of paper. Place wax paper over the drawing and there you go, there’s your template!

I cut out several pieces of wax paper so I could keep switching the paper over easily.

The next step is to melt the chocolate (brown colored) candy melts in a small plastic bag in the microwave. Once the candy is melted, cut the tip and pipe along the outline of the wings. I suggest doing one wing at a time so that it stays melted. Then, melt whatever color you have for your wings. Cut the tip and pipe along the inside of the wing, I used a toothpick to spread it on the inside. While the candy is still melted, take a toothpick and with a quick motion make swirls. Start with the chocolate into the color. Once you’ve done that, I used white, rounded sprinkles to place on the ends!

Once you’ve completed all of the wings and they have dried, assemble your cupcakes!

Here’s my flock 🙂 I used chocolate frosting for the bodies of the butterflies and the chocolate melts for the antennas!

One response to “Butterfly Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Apple Cider Cupcakes/Salted Caramel Buttercream | Never Trust the Skinny Cook

Leave a Reply

