Rachael Ray’s Turkey Corn Chili

turkey chili mug

Alright, this is absolutely one of my favorite recipes! One of the reasons why I love it so much is because it’s just so simple! It also contains turkey and NOT beef, which is ideal for me. This soup is a double win, it’s both health AND filling. It has a nice kick and freezes really well, making it an easy go to meal when I’m too busy to cook! Well, it’s pretty healthy until you add the sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese on top! I can’t help myself though. It is chili after all.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon (1 turn around the pan in a slow stream) extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 large bell pepper, red or green, chopped (I like to use green since it adds more color to the recipe)
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 bay leaf, fresh or dried
  • 1 1/2 pounds cooked turkey meat, diced
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons (a palm full) chili powder
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons (a palm full) ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon to 2 teaspoons (several drops) cayenne pepper sauce
  • Coarse salt
  • 2 cups frozen corn kernels or leftover prepared corn
  • 1 (32-ounce) can chunky style crushed tomatoes
  • 2 cups prepared chicken stock or broth, paper container or canned

Directions

Heat a deep pot over medium high heat. Work close to the stove for your chopping. Add oil to your pot, 1 turn of the pan, and add vegetables as you chop them.

Add bay leaf and cook vegetables 5 minutes, stirring frequently, reducing heat if veggies start to stick. Stir in diced turkey meat (already cooked) and season with chili powder, cumin, and cayenne sauce. Season with a little salt, to taste. Add corn, tomatoes, and broth. Combine your chili well, adjust seasonings, reduce heat to medium low, and simmer for 7 to 10 minutes.

Recipe courtesy of Rachael Ray: found on food network.

Suggestions and Recommendations

When getting the ingredients, I can never find 32 oz. cans of the tomato sauce that I like.  I just grab the 28 oz. cans and instead of 1 1/2 pounds of turkey I only get 1 pound and some how that still ends up being a lot of ground turkey! I generally just go with 1 tbsp of chili powder, 1 tbsp of ground cumin, and 2 tsp of cayenne pepper (I don’t have the sauce so I just use the powder). Now, I typically use less spice then she calls for and it is still pretty spicy. I recommend starting out with less and adding to the dish later on. Also, the chili is very dense. I actually added more than 1/2 cup extra of the chicken stock to make it less thick. That’s just my personal preference though!

One response to “Rachael Ray’s Turkey Corn Chili

  1. Pingback: Paleo Diet | Never Trust the Skinny Cook

Leave a Reply

